Official Duties of the Officers
NCCO’s National Board


Randi Von Ellefson


Wanda L. Bass School of Music
Oklahoma City University

Randi Von Ellefson was appointed both Director of Choral Activities at Oklahoma City University and Artistic Director of Canterbury Voices in 2004. He was taught at the University of Chicago and the Rockefeller Chapel as well as Whitworth University in Spokane, Washington. He has served as president of NCCO and the Northwest and Central Divisions of ACDA. Randi has taught at the Hochschule für Musik in Munich and at Payap University in Chiang Mai, Thailand.



L. Brett Scott


College-Conservatory of Music
University of Cincinnati


Miguel Ángel Felipe

Vice President

University of Hawai‘i – Mānoa

Dr. Felipe is Director of Choral Activities and Associate Professor of Music at the University of Hawai‘i – Mānoa in Honolulu, Hawai‘i. He’s led choirs at Oberlin Conservatory, Mt. Holyoke College, the Boston Conservatory, and Harvard University. In addition to his role with NCCO, he serves as President of the Hawai‘i Chapter of ACDA. Miguel is an active guest conductor, clinician, and presenter throughout the US and in Asia, South America, and Europe.


Dominick DiOrio


Jacobs School of Music
Indiana University

Conductor and composer Dr. Dominick DiOrio is Associate Professor of Music at the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music, where he also serves as director of NOTUS, an elite, new music chamber chorus. With NOTUS, he has appeared at National and Regional Conferences of ACDA, as well as on the DCINY Artist Series at Carnegie Hall. His original music is widely performed, and he has been commissioned, published, and recorded by ensembles across the globe.


Elizabeth Swanson


Nyack College School of Music

Dr. Swanson serves as Associate Professor of Music at Nyack College School of Music in New York City where she is the conductor of the Nyack College Chorale. She has also been the conductor of choral ensembles at North Park University, Northwestern University, Roosevelt University, The University of Chicago, and Ithaca College. In addition to her work at Nyack College, she is Manager and a member of the New York City–based professional choir, Manhattan Chorale.



Sean Burton

Chief Editor of Publications

Briar Cliff University

Dr. Sean Burton serves as Associate Professor of Music, Director of Choral Activities, and Chairperson of the Department of Music at Briar Cliff University in Sioux City, Iowa. An accomplished scholar, with one book and more than fifty additional publications to his credit, he concurrently holds conducting positions with community, liturgical, and youth choirs and orchestras while maintaining an active schedule as guest conductor, clinician, and adjudicator.